What Can You Eat On A Gluten Free Diet?

The question of what can you eat on a gluten free diet is probably the most important one to consider. Below I have pulled together some ideas of what you can eat but please be aware that things do change, as we have found over the last seven years, so do keep checking!

For those who have taken on a gluten free diet, keep in mind that there are still plenty of foods readily available for your consumption at your nearest store or market. But before you can start your gluten free diet, it’s imperative to know what foods you are and are not allowed to eat. Here is a list of foods that DO NOT contain gluten.

  • The following are allowed: Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt and vegetable oils including canola. Plain fruits, vegetables, (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, eggs, nuts, beans and legumes and flours made from them.
  • Foods containing the following ingredients: Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat), oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca four or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.
  • Rice in all forms (white, brown, basmati and enriched rice). Also amaranth, buckwheat (kasha), Montina, millet, quinoa, teff, sorghum and soy. Foods made from grains (and grain-like plants: Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits,etc.).
  • Distilled vinegar
  • Distilled alcoholic beverages because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. But is is worth checking oout this about Whiskey.
  • Mono and diglycerides which are gluten free fats.
  • Spices

The following foods DO contain gluten and should be avoided.

  • Wheat in any form including spelt, kamut, triticale (a combination of wheat and rye), durum, einkorn, farina, semolina, cake flour, matzo (or matzah) and couscous.
  • Ingredients that have “wheat” in the name, such as: wheat starch, modified wheat starch, hydrolyzed wheat protein and pregelatinized wheat protein. Buckwheat, which is gluten free, is an exception.
  • Barley and malt, which is usually made from barley, malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavoring and malt vinegar.
  • Licorice, imitation crab meat, beer, most is fermented from barley. (Specialty gluten-free beer is available from several companies.)
  • Breaded or floured meat, poultry, seafood and vegetables. Also meat, poultry and vegetables when they have a sauce or marinade that contains gluten, such as soy and teriyaki sauces.
  • Rye

The following MAY or MAY NOT contain gluten, so be wary of what their ingredients or labels state before consuming.

  • Pharmaceuticals are usually gluten free unless stated otherwise; always ask the pharmacists for further details and ingredients for medicines you are uncertain about.
  • Oats, make sure it’s the GF (gluten free) type.
  • Dextrin, sometimes made from wheat.
  • Processed cheese may contain gluten, so stick to real cheese which is gluten free.
  • Flavorings, can contain wheat or barley, also known as “malt”.
  • Modified food starch is gluten free unless listed as “modified wheat starch”.
  • Soy Sauce is sometimes fermented from wheat.
  • Seasonings and seasoning mixes can sometimes contain wheat, check the label.

If you’re ever unsure about a particular food item or product, always read the label or ask a knowledgeable person about it. Once you familiarize yourself with what is and is not allowed, it will become second nature and you no longer have to constantly worry whether what you’re consuming is gluten free or not.

There was an error connecting to the Amazon web service, or no results were found for your query.

Recommended Reading

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!