Gluten-Free Food Lists – Grains, Dairy, Meats/Fish

Enjoy all fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts, fish, shellfish, and meats as long as they are not processed (ie., mixes, sauces, canned, meals).  Evaluate ingredient labels whenever evaluating a processed food.

Oats are gluten-free, but may be grown or processed with wheat during.  This contamination leaves oats as a questionable item.  Look for oat products that are gluten-free.

The list below is not all inclusive, but includes popular food items.  When in doubt, put it back on the shelf and do your research.

Gluten-Free Food Lists – Grains, Dairy, Meats/Fish

Grains

Amaranth
Buckwheat
Corn
Millet
Montina (Indian rice grass)
Oats** opt for a Gluten-Free product
Quinoa
Rice
Sorghum
Teff
Wild Rice

Dairy (always check labels)

Check for lactose intolerance
Plain milk, but avoid flavored milk
Plain yogurt is usually safe, check flavored yogurts
Eggs
Butter
Cottage Cheese
Ice Cream and Sherberts proceed with caution
Non-processed cheese, but watch out for “beer washed” cheeses

Meats, Fish, Shellfish, Nuts

All non-processed, otherwise check additive list and ingredients

Recommended Reading

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!